Spring til indhold

Belarus introduces 5-days visa-free regime from 9 February 2017, with certain exemptions

Updated on 19.01.2017


On 9 January, Belarus President Alexander Lukashenko signed Decree No. 8 “On the introduction of the visa-free entry and departure for foreign citizens” which will allow the visa-free entry through the border checkpoint at the Minsk National Airport and the visa-free stay in Belarus for up to 5 days for the citizens of 80 states, including Denmark.

The aim of the document is to raise and facilitate the number of business trips, tourism and private visits of people with regular passports and will not apply to foreigners on official trips with diplomatic, service, special and similar passports.

A valid passport or other document permitting foreign travels, money (equivalent to at least two base amounts for each day of stay in the foreign currency or Belarusian rubles), medical insurance in the amount of at least €10,000 operational in Belarus will be needed for the visa-free entry.

The visa-free regime does not apply to people arriving to Belarus by plane from Russia and people planning to go to the airports of Russia.

The decree will enter into force in a month after its official publication, meaning 9 February 2017.

For more information please refer to:

The official site of the president of the Republic of Belarus: http://president.gov.by/en/news_en/view/belarus-introduces-five-day-visa-free-regime-for-citizens-of-80-states-15344/

The official site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus: http://mfa.gov.by/en/visa/visafreetravel/e0ced19bb1f9bf2c.html